Faculty or Staff Name:

Hobgood_Cherri.jpgCherri Hobgood, MD
Rolly McGrath Professor of Emergency Medicine

Chair, Emergency Medicine

Office Location & Contact
Faculty Office Building, Eskenazi Health
640 Eskenazi Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46202

Phone: (317) 880-3885


University of North Carolina Hospitals
Residency, Emergency Medicine, 1995
Residency, Family Medicine, 1990

University of North Carolina School of Medicine
MD, Class of 1989

University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BA, Biology, Class of 1983

Curriculum Vitae

Click Here to Download PDF

About me

Cherri D. Hobgood, M.D., is the Rolly McGrath professor and chair of the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Hobgood received her medical degree from the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill and residency training in emergency medicine at UNC Hospitals.

A native North Carolinian, Dr. Hobgood joined the IU Faculty as a tenured Professor in 2011.  Prior to her arrival at IU she served as faculty of the UNC School of Medicine and held a variety of roles including, Associate Dean for Curriculum and Educational Development and Vice Chair of Emergency Medicine.  She has held many national and international leadership roles including President of the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine, Chair of the American College of Emergency Physicians Board of Directors, Chair of the SAEM Foundation, and Chair of the International Federation for Emergency Medicine Core Curriculum and Education Committee.

She is the recipient of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine award, the AMA-Women Physician’s Council Mentor Recognition Award, The American College of Emergency Physicians Outstanding Contribution to Education Award, and the International Order of the IFEM.  She also serves as an oral examiner for the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

She is the mother of two sons, Collin and Walter who attend UVA and UNC.


The 2016 Model of the Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine.
The 2016 Model of the Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine. J Emerg Med. 2017 Mar 25;: Authors: Counselman FL, Babu K, Edens MA, Gorgas DL, Hobgood C, Marco CA, Katz E, Rodgers K, Stallings LA, Wadman MC, 2016 EM Mod…


1701 N. Senate Blvd, B401 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | (317) 962-5975